top of page

An end is a beginning

Today I finished my job.

I've been so focused on finishing work - the work I've been doing for the last 6 years - that the move to Helsinki has seemed frozen in the unreal distance. But walking through my neighbourhood carrying my box of high heels that had collected under the desk, Helsinki suddenly seemed wonderfully, terrifyingly close.

The terror of the unknown. The wonder of the unknown. A new language, a new unemployment, a new house, new bird calls, new smells, new ways of getting around.

I walk and cycle through the streets of Melbourne. And the sights I see on my walk from home to work and back might be familiar and common, but I find still find them totally delightful. This is a part of what I'm saying goodbye to. But what will I see in a 10 minute walk from our apartment in Helsinki?

Nick gets the keys to our apartment today. We will find out shortly.

bottom of page